You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2015 8:56 PM Title: Reconciliations

A friend of mine, asked me about my favourite writer in the Star Trek fandom and even before she could finish her query, I found myself answering. Raven-Knight is the real deal. Read her stories, read ‘Traitor’s Sons’ and you will see her hitting every mark on the character writing, the plot, the prose, the worldbuilding, and you’ll be amazed and quite stunned. And yet I was a bit reluctant to read your earlier work. Not because I doubt your talent but because your earlier stories are mostly canon compliant and not alternative universe settings. I’m generally a bit reluctant about stories set in the Abrams movie verse and which additionally deal with the movies events (directly or indirectly), since I’m always conflicted, when it comes to deciding if I should like Abrams’ movies or not. My partner once described my relationship with the movies this way: You are enjoying the reboot movies -- just in a very angry way.

 

Imagine now my conflict about reading your Metamorphosis to T'hy'la series. And yet, you disappointed me not. Your whole Metamorphosis to T'hy'la series centers on characters' storytelling in a way that the first Star Trek reboot movie (and the second for that matter) promises but said movie rarely delivers outside of brief set pieces. I love this series, not as much as ‘Traitor’s Sons’ maybe because ‘Traitor’s Sons’ is an enigma in itself but I enjoyed it nevertheless immensely. It's almost perilous to recommend this as highly as I do, because high expectations help nobody, but I had high expectations and they were exceeded.

 



Author's Response:

Aww, thank you!  I'm your favorite!?  That's a massive compliment - considering the many very talented writers in the Star Trek fandom.  So, thank you! 

Yes, some of my other work is very compliant with canon.  I like to also write some stories that can be considered missing scenes or they are told from a character's perspective of a canon scene.  I think my favorite are the fill-in-the-blanks/gaps type of stories, though, the missing scenes.  It's like being able to expand and really flesh out something mentioned that may have seemed insignificant or not worth talking about...and making a point to discuss it or what happened in that mentioned moment.  Sometimes, they end up going right into the character study territory, but I also like that type of story, too. 

In the end, I just try to keep the characters in character.  I'm glad you gave some of the earlier stories I've written a shot, despite your hesitancy - and nevertheless enjoyed them.  ~ RK

Reviewer: EmmaSimone Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2014 10:25 PM Title: Reconciliations

Loving this series so far.  Will you continue to work on it?



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I do have intentions on continuing this series.  After all, I've only just gotten to the Friend definition of T'hy'la in this series, so we have to get to Brother and Lover yet.  :)  ~ RK

Reviewer: ladymay Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/07/2014 5:21 AM Title: Acts of Mercy

You’re really a special, wonderful, different kind of writer. This fandom truly needs more people like you. I am so glad I found you and your brilliant stories. I hope you know that. Now I can’t even read any K/S story from any other writer anymore. Not that I want too. You ruined me for others. I love this story to pieces. How Kirk cares for Spock, how Spock does have his weaknesses and how he let Kirk help - although a bit unwillingly - at first. Both very in character in their actions.


p.s.: All the love for hurt Spock!!!!



Author's Response:

Your comments have quite literally made my entire week (actually, last few months - which have been pretty emotionally terrible) brighter!  I'm glad that you came across my writings and are enjoying them enough to comment - nevermind with the enthusiasm and uplifting loveliness that you have been commenting. (Although I will definitely encourage you to read some other authors, too.  There are many fantastic ones.  But I wouldn't mind keeping your wonderfully kind comments to myself, however. *grin*)  Thank you for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/03/2014 2:37 AM Title: Reconciliations

I just found this series and read it straight through over the last few days. Really good stuff! I look forward to more, if you continue. :)



Author's Response:

Glad you continued with the series! :)  I have plans to continue, but I have been neglecting several other stories for far too long, and am trying to hammer more material out for them (and in one case finish - but that's another fandom entirely) before making further strides in this series.  But, there are plans for it.  Hang in there.  Really pleased you enjoyed the series as it stands.  Thank you for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2014 1:51 PM Title: Acts of Mercy

this was sweet :)



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you enjoyed it.  Hope you check out some more of the series.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Chris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2013 3:48 PM Title: Reconciliations

I haven't enjoyed a fanfiction as much as this one for a long time. Reading about all the little things that happen to our favourite crew along their journey is entertaining, and seeing the relationship between Spock and Jim progress even more so. Thank you for writing this series, I hope to see more of it in the future - I'll try not to stalk your profile here too much until then.



Author's Response:

Wow!  Thank you so much! :) There is going to be more of this series (but right now my longer one is running my life!) And feel free to stalk my profile; hopefully I can convince the muse to be a little more multi-tasking and write something other than one story at a time.  Right now, the muse is winning.  Thank you for such a kind review. ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2013 8:01 AM Title: Reconciliations

I enjoyed reading this very much, particularly the part with Chekov since I've really wanted to see them have a talk about what happened with Spock's mother.  I've always imagined that Chekov felt a tremendous amount of guilt about not being able to save her. 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I've always wanted to see that scene, too.  Figured I never would so took matters into my own hands.  :)  Thakns for commenting.  Planning out the next part soon.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Perfect_Potion Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2013 3:59 AM Title: Reconciliations

Another fantastic addition to the series. Loved Giney the tribble! my favorite part was the interaction between Chekov and Spock. I'd always wanted to see something like that. Can't wait for more K/S interaction too!



Author's Response:

Giney will be around in this series for a while.  Thank you for commenting.  Glad you are enjoying the series.  And I have been looking forward to writing the Spock and Chekov scene for a long while, but couldn't figure out exactly where to put it.  Very happy you liked that scene so much.  I spent more time on that storyline of this installment than all of the other ones.  Guess it paid off.  Thanks! K/S is coming in fuller force.  ~ RK

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2013 3:06 PM Title: Personal Revelations

Definitely worth the wait and as to your question whether this would be considered AU now or not ...?  Who knows?  I say just write and enjoy.  We'll figure that out as a community later.  This was an awesome chapter and I enjoyed it very much.  Would have like to have seen more of a drunk/hungover Vulcan, but that's okay.  Just me personally.  I love the relationship between Pike and Kirk.  It's awesome.  Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  It seems (based off some released screenshots - of Keenser being alive, for one thing) that this will slide into AU territory...Oh dear.  Glad you liked it!  There may be more opportunities for Drunk-Spock in the future.  Everybody just needed to have some serious talks with each other in this installment, so drunk/hungover Spock couldn't stick around for long. And I am a massive fan of Nu!Pike.  Good man.  Glad you like the relationship I've given Jim and Pike.  Thanks for the kind review!  Hope to hear from you again! ~ RK

Reviewer: pintospirk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2013 9:12 AM Title: Personal Revelations

Wow. Very good. Poor Keenser.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you enjoyed it.  Working on the next part.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Perfect_Potion Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2013 3:32 AM Title: Personal Revelations

Haven't even read this yet, but I squeed when I saw this. I've been waiting for you to update! I'm so happy, your series is a fav of mine. Going to read now...



Author's Response:

Oh, yay!  Looking forward to what you think of it.  Glad my updates get people excited!  ~ RK

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2013 1:35 AM Title: Logic Bombs

Thanks for this story and indeed the series. I have laughed so hard i hurt!!! Can't wait for the next chapter...

Please keep writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  There's much more of the series planned.  Next chapter is very slow going.  Had a different tone to it, so it's a little bit more difficult to find the mindset for it.  But I plan to have it done by the end of the week or sooner.  Hope to hear from you again! ~ RK

Reviewer: spocko Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/18/2013 2:02 AM Title: Logic Bombs

i request that you write sevral more chapters, with haste. 



Author's Response:

Well, the next one is halfway done.  I hope to have it done for the weekend.  Hope you enjoy!  Thanks for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: Zzickle Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2013 2:13 AM Title: Logic Bombs

Spock should know (or at least be able to figure out) when Kirk's birthday is. Kirk is The Kelvin Baby. All he has to do is a quick mental check to determine that it is not the anniversary of the Kelvin's destruction. There's no way he doesn't know the circumstances of Kirk's birth. I don't buy it.



Author's Response:

He had an amnesiac moment?  Thank you for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: Zzickle Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2013 6:28 PM Title: Intake Monitors

I liked how Kirk didn't realize he was eating a PB&J sandwich. Also, nice bonding moment with the soup.



Author's Response:

Thanks.  Soup brings people together.  Thanks for the review. ~ RK

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2013 1:28 AM Title: Logic Bombs

Another enjoyable entry. Nice by-play between Spock & Bones. Love the drink names! Personally I tend to stick to Logic Bombs myself, but Jim had a nice list! Looking forward to the next entry in the series!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I really enjoy writing Spock & Bones scenes.  Definitely consulted a drink book, as I tend to stick with the Logic Bomb, too.  Guess that happens when you're very much a lightweight.  :/  Hope to hear from you when the next part is up. ~ RK

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2013 12:46 AM Title: The Dawn in Desinence

Mollusks, smollusks! It's a good story, well written, with the characters endearing and authentic. You have a talent for capturing them! Very enjoyable!



Author's Response:

Another review - yay!  Thank you!!!  Glad to see they're still in character so far.  Glad you are enjoying!  :) ~ RK

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2013 11:59 PM Title: Initial Impressions

Loved it! Maybe you can tell from my name, but I'm an animal lover. Duh! The story of I-Chaya in the animated series has always been one of my favorites. Thanks for the fond memories.



Author's Response:

I had guessed you like animals, but then I also saw the sound...Vulcanized? I-Chaya seems like a pretty awesome pet.  Who wouldn't want a gentle giant companion like that?  You're welcome.  Thanks for another review! ~ RK

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2013 11:05 PM Title: Acts of Mercy

Very nice. I'm really enjoying this series. I like these character studies where we get to know more about the characters as they get to know more about each other -- and sometimes themselves. Keep up the good work!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you like the series.  It's fun to write these.  Character backstories/histories are a particular favorite type of genre when I peruse the fics out there.  They will learn plenty more about each other as these go on. Stay tuned.  ~ RK

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2013 10:30 PM Title: Intake Monitors

Very nice! Like the humor, and your characterizations are very good. Too bad Rand is such a doofus, but I never liked the character in TOS, so no reason she should be different in the reboot. Look forward to reading more!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I try to keep the characters as much in character as I can, sometimes with a higher degree of success than other attempts. I wasn't much of a Rand fan, myself, but someone had to be unaware of the allergies, right?  Poor girl.  Thanks for reviewing! ~ RK

You must login (register) to review.